Seasons of Love (3)

Part 2 – Here

THREE

It’s the eve of her fourteenth birthday and he is narrating a story to her that he has read the week before. The narration is happening while he is simultaneously trying to balance himself upon the branches of a mango tree he has climbed for her sake. There are fresh fruits, some of the exotic variety, that are lying washed and diced inside her fridge at the house. But she wants Arnav to pluck a particular mango for her from the top of the tree in her backyard. A fifteen year old Arnav isn’t about to turn down her request and is risking the safety of his limbs in the quest he has embarked upon. Within a few minutes, he has the mango in his hand and calls at her to catch it while he throws it at her from the tree top.

She can’t help but notice that he has grown taller, and his voice has changed. At fifteen, it sounds deeper, huskier, and sometimes she gets lost in it while he is narrating a story to her. His face has begun to look much more angular, and she can spot hair on his cheeks and chin. She is positive there isn’t a more handsome fellow in her class at school. He would have surely been every girl’s crush in the batch. The thought disturbs her and she is pleased that she’ll never have to witness her class fellows pining after him.

His movements are lithe, and soon he has made his way between the branches and lands on his feet with a thud next to her. He claps his hands together to clear them of the dust and lifts an eyebrow at her questioningly. “What? Is it still raw?”

She shakes her head and is unaware of the pinch of color that has marked her cheeks. “No, it’s good.” She pours some water on the fruit from the bottle she has been carrying, then tears a hole in the peel with her teeth and takes a bite. It’s the way he has taught her, and she cannot practice it anywhere else but with him. It would not be wise to replicate the technique inside the house. “So, what you’re saying is that the name of the actual Mrs. de Winter is never mentioned at all in the book? And this when the book is written in first-person narration?”

He nods. “It’s done consciously, to show that she isn’t the leading lady even in her own life. Rebecca overshadows her entire existence, even in death.”

Their books have changed too, and so has their interpretation of stories. After Khushi made an accidental discovery that Arnav has been tweaking sad endings for her, she has asked him to strictly stick to the actual storylines. At fourteen, she says she’s now “almost an adult” and can handle the harsh realities of life. The no-romance rule has also been breached. Arnav hasn’t been very willing, but Khushi insists that well-rounded knowledge is of utmost importance. So for every five books from other genres, they have settled on reading one romance. Given that her books are all sourced through her parents, they have no choice but to stick to classics and very subtle and tasteful romances. She has seen her classmates giggle conspiringly upon the back-benches holding books titled ‘Taken by the Ruthless Rake’ and ‘Married to the CEO Billionaire’, but there’s no way she can ask her father to get her these books. She also has a feeling that these are more private reads and perhaps Arnav reading them out to her wouldn’t be the best idea. At fourteen, she has learned to be ‘private’ about a few things.

However, there is nothing quite like early teenage curiosity. She is aware that while narrating books to her, Arnav hesitates a little at some parts and clears his throat a little too forcefully. There’s fleeting mention of kisses, and then he quickly moves on with the storyline. She has begun to carefully make note of these pauses, and once she gets the books back from him, she turns the pages swiftly under the dim light of her bedside lamp at night and searches for the parts that he did not elaborate upon. Then with a furious blush and a head full of questions, she shuts the book and draws the covers right up to her head.

What Khushi hasn’t noticed however, is the gross injustice that is habitually done by Arnav towards some of literature’s most celebrated heroes. Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy, he insists, is highly over-rated. There is nothing special about a brooding, rich-fellow who can’t bring himself to behave politely in company. He’s not even that good-looking, he is sure of it. Similarly, Gilbert Blythe and John Thornton have been written-off as simply passable, forgettable characters. She blindly trusts his verdict, and hopes that there are better, worthier men in the real world out there. He assures her that there definitely are some if not many.

“But you must read Rebecca for yourself, Khushi,” he is saying as they amble their way back towards the house. “It’s very atmospheric. I can’t replicate it in narration.”

“But you did,” she grins at him. “I can imagine exactly how beautiful and magnificent Manderley must be. I wish I have a house like that someday.”

“You already do,” he mutters under his breath as he watches her skip ahead and flick the mango seed into the nearest bin.


“Fifty!” She hears Arnav say (a tad loudly) the instant she steps into his line of sight, although she could have sworn she had heard a “Ten” right before he had spotted her in his peripheral vision. He is doing pushups. The muscles in his arm ripple as he dips and then lifts again, while a clear stream of sweat trickles down his forehead. Within seconds, he has shifted to single-arm pushups. One arm carries his weight, while the other is folded behind his back. He is a lean sixteen year old now but the constant physical work he does is doing good things for his physique. Khushi stares in awe for several long seconds, before taking seat on a log beside him. 

“Arnav,” she says and he grunts in response.

“This guy at school…Aniket, he has been staring at me a lot. He likes me.”

Arnav is about to collapse quite unflatteringly on the ground but manages to steady himself in time. He is in the tenth grade, and she is in the ninth. Boys have been staring at girls and much more.

“What?” he asks, a little harshly. He is back on his feet. “How do you know he likes you? Just because a guy stares at you doesn’t mean he likes you, Khushi. You should report him to the class teacher if he—”

Arre.” She interrupts him. “He gave me a love letter today. That’s how I know. See, I brought it here to show you.”

All color drains from his face and there is a flash of anger in his eyes. He walks over to where she’s sitting and snatches the paper from her. Her eyes remain trained on his face as he quickly sifts through the contents of the letter that has been penned by a Shakespeare wannabe from eighth standard at Modern School who thinks that Khushi’s eyes resemble the sun, and her face glows like ocean water. There is other stuff about hair and nose as well, and one particularly touching line about the chin.

Arnav lets out a snort of derision, resisting the urge to tear the letter into tiny pieces and feed them to the goat who is ambling around the vegetable garden, doing destruction any which way it can.

“What?” Khushi asks.

“Doesn’t even know how to write in proper grammar and thinks he can propose to you. What a load of bullshit. God help me or I’ll throw up right here. Fool.”

Khushi looks at him angrily. “That’s your problem with the letter? Grammar? And you think compliments on my looks are bullshit?”

“He has called your nose like a smoothened hill slope, Khushi.”

“Well at least he finds me pretty.”

“Yeah well, big deal. Any guy with two eyes would find you pretty.”

“Not every guy, clearly.”

She flicks her hair angrily in a distinctly feminine maneuver, and turns her back on him with a huff. She is marching away in steps long enough to prove her point, but slow enough to allow him to catch up and make it up to her.

“Come on Khushi, you can’t be serious,” Arnav shouts, taking long strides behind her. “Why are you getting so upset? What, you like this guy or something?” 

She turns her head to look at him angrily. “I don’t know, I hadn’t thought about it. But now that you mention, I’ll consider it.”

And then she walks away.


[A/N: Thank you for the very warm welcome you’ve given this story. It was so nice to read your experiences with the books that were mentioned since they happen to be an integral part of my own childhood. In fact my sister and I were so taken with the whole idea of having a secret group along the lines of Famous-Five etc. that one fine day we decided to form our own group and call ourselves the Fantastic Two (I am honestly laughing even as I type this). We made cardboard badges for ourselves and decided to keep it a secret from all the grown-ups. Our first mission was to find out who plucks our garden flowers every morning. The first morning we both woke up too late so it wasn’t the best start you could say. The next morning we woke up early in full excitement only to discover that our neighbor had been taking them for her morning puja. We persevered, and decided that our next mission would be to find out who lived in a very desolate, very sad looking house opposite ours on the street. Not surprisingly, we never got permission to cross the streets on our own, let alone go knocking on other people’s houses. Fast forward many years, and my sister and I still sometimes ask each other “remember the Fantastic Two?” and each time we laugh about it till we’re teary eyed. There really is nothing quite as beautiful as childhood.]

72 thoughts on “Seasons of Love (3)

    1. Wow! They are growing too fast and their thoughts and the different kind of liking they slowly developed for each (which they haven’t realised yet) is adorable. So, the tweaking did not cause any damage. But, the romance did in a good way. What are they going to do about Aniket now? Let us hope Garima won’t bring a boy and ask Khushi to marry him. By the way, have they read Unexpectedly Expected? They should have.
      I missed out on sibling mischief as my sister is 4 years older than me and my brother is 4 years younger than me. My sister became a second mum to my brother and I made my own world. I had a set of friends and I had my books.
      Lovely part 3.
      Cheers…..

      Liked by 5 people

  1. Ha ha. Cute teenage infatuation/ crush stage. Super cute.

    This brought a huge grin on my face. I’m glad I’m unable to wipe it off. Good read for the evening.

    Thank you.

    Cheers

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Friendship blossoming into something more, tinged with jealousy and all, eh? Both are possessive about the other, but maybe they don’t know Iss Pyar ko kya naam doon…yet.
    So far the classes & masses have not managed to separate the two besties. But I wonder what is in store for them in the coming years.

    About the note on “Fantastic two”….fantastic toh tum ho hi 😘🤗 I guess all readers of those books at some point in their lives must have imagined themselves to be super sleuths. We did too. Didn’t have a name or carboard badges and all, but a group of us had decided to “investigate” the crime scene where someone has broken a glass window of certain Mr. Dixit. After 3-4 days of “collecting evidence” but finding nothing, we finally gave up. Then my brother’s friend casually mentioned how fun it was to run away from the place of crime after trying to hit a sixer. I couldn’t do much than throw a nasty glare at him, which obviously went unnoticed 😁

    Liked by 7 people

  3. Ahh the sweet and sour teenage years☺. I can’t help but be curious…surely their mingling must have become a bone of contention for Khushi’s parents? Unless of course they are too busy in their own worlds…
    Fantastic twosome…hahaha. The cases seem legit though😁. Sadly I couldn’t share my Enid Blyton experiences with anyone, at least around the time I started reading those books. But I remember leaning a bit towards the Famous Five series, and finding the Secret Seven gang obnoxious 😑 I mean Password to enter their meetings! *rolls eyes*

    Liked by 6 people

    1. I am so glad to find someone who shares my opinion of the Secret-Seven! I always thought they were trying too hard and should perhaps learn how to be effortlessly cool from Julian gang 🤣.

      Liked by 4 people

        1. Yes and yes! 😁 The way Enid Blyton describes healthy food though. She made me think carrots with lashings of hard-boiled eggs were straight from the heavens.

          Liked by 4 people

  4. Aha now I know why I missed it…its dropped in promotional tab of mail🤦🏻‍♀️ and for an update its super cute teenage stage🥰 pehale pyar ka pehala yehasas and all that❤.. loved the update with lovely moments between K and A with your trademark humor 😇😍 thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow.. simply beautiful ❤️

    Just love how their friendship had taken a different angle.. I was so worried that Khushi might get caught telling wrong endings to her dad.. but so glad that she had found that..

    Waiting for next part eagerly now 😍

    P.S – I loved your note tad bit more.. “Fantastic Two”.. so cute 😘😘

    I think you should try writing autobiography. I would love to buy and treasure it for life.. I am pretty sure we will be smiling during every read 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Each part is so refreshing. Such a heartwarming update. Waiting to read more about their journey growing up together. Me being almost 30 I am missing my teenage years. Nostalgia hits with every update.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Beautiful One

    Both Arnav and Khushi have now blossomed into teenagers who started to see the other in a different way and possessiveness and jealousy popping up now and then though they are not aware themselves what their feelings for the other mean.

    Loved your note about “fantastic two”. It was cute and hillarious.

    Thanks
    Chinnulu

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Khushi got her first love letter and Arnav is not too pleased.Their first tiff? Lovely update Sabi.
    Bachpan ke din bhi kya din the, Udte firte titli banke.

    Liked by 3 people

  9. Oh wow Sabi! This story is amazing!
    First of all, I love the fact that it’s centred around books. And around books that were my whole world growing up— Enid Blyton, Sherlock Holmes, To kill a mockingbird, Pride and Prejudice, Rebecca! I LOVE that you mentioned Rebecca. What a story and I kinda agree with Arnav— one needs to read it on their own to actually get the whole feel of it.
    You have sorta answered one of my lifelong questions— what do men make of Pride and prejudice and the *dreamy* Mr Darcy! That’s one of my favourite novels of all times. I find it totally believable that Arnav isn’t too hot on Mr Darcy. A heterosexual male gaze wouldn’t really get it. Also, Mr Darcy being super rich would grate on this arnav’s nerves I would assume.
    That brings me to the second thing I liked about this story— that Arnav is the one who’s more financially unstable. That’s rare.
    I love any story that starts with childhood friendships. There is always a certain charm to that. Mainly because, as you said, there’s nothing that can ever come close to the wonder and absolutely magical chaos that is one’s childhood (if they’re blessed with a good one)
    Waiting for the next one!
    Cheers.
    Love,
    M.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. So lovely to have you join in on this one, M. All the books mentioned here have been a special part of my childhood and teenage years. I read Rebecca at around the same age that A & K read it in this story, and honestly lost all touch with reality for almost a week after. I would just imagine the haunting sea view from the west wing windows of Manderley and daydream about it. Pride and Prejudice again is an all time favorite, like it is for so many others.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Teenage years and their challenges. Khushi is getting noticed and she wants it coming from Arnav. But he is not quite sure what she wants from him.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. The coming of age and with it bittersweet awareness. So beautifully penned. Only YOU my dear can do justice to such a storyline and keep us hooked! Thank you for this, love from me 🥰🥰🥰

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Khushi gets her first love letter..
    She shows it to Arnav purposely..
    He is a little bit jealous but won’t show it.. instead,he mentions the grammatical mistakes n diction..lol
    Khushi wants him to praise her ..
    She will not ask him directly n he will not do it for sure..

    Lovely..lovely..
    But update US,too ..
    pls….

    Liked by 2 people

  13. I just love the two of them how these two childhood buddies have reached their teens their friendship is unknowingly blossoming into a love story .Could visualize the scene when kushi thrust’s her first love letter in Arnav’s hands anger on Arnav’s face when he read’s the lines and kushi’s frustration when he doesn’t appreciate the letter and finds faults in the letter.
    Can imagine kushi saying buddhu kahin ka.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. So beautiful, loved how you captured the innocence of those wonder years. Especially loved how you touched on class differences through the prism of their friendship.

    Rebecca: this dear friend who read the book first narrated it to us friends. Suffice to say the book failed to match her narratorial skills when I got around to reading it! Coming to Holmes I remember been completely spooked out reading the hound of Baskervilles. Must’ve been 13😅 a very long time ago.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, P. Have you watched Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, the 1984 TV series? I was 13 too when I watched it for the first time, and it’s what got me introduced to Holmes. I read the books afterwards. I know Benedict Cumberbatch is more famously associated with the character these days, but Jeremy Brett will always be Sherlock Holmes in my head.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh my couldn’t agree more! Jeremy Brett is the ultimate Holmes. Gosh those Sunday mornings back in the day when doordarshan would show it! Like a friend used to say, I’m carbon dating myself😂

        Liked by 1 person

  15. I like this plot of books very much. & I must appreciate you for the knowledge of books. I must say without going through each you can’t just write it. And the way you narrate their growing together phase I just loved it most. Thanks for this new story

    Liked by 1 person

  16. “Doesn’t even know how to write in proper grammar and thinks he can propose to you. What a load of bullshit. God help me or I’ll throw up right here. Fool.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe….This is exactly how I would respond too 🙂
      And your note…..secret societies and cardboard badges and sad houses down the street…..sigh….brings back so many memories!
      Also, I read Rebecca at 14 as well. Have to say it blew my mind.

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Such a lovely story you’re weaving..
    I didn’t realize how much I needed something as endearing and lighthearted as this until I decided to read it. ❤

    Tomorrow (and the next part) can’t come fast enough for me.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, I’m happy to be here as well. ❤
        I had hoped to read more new fanfics this year (including Prescribed Insanity, & Untold Stories), but work hadn’t allowed me that luxury yet. I can only catch up to the ones i had already started or maybe a new but short one every now and then.
        That’s why when i read in your note that it’s a short one, I took the plunge. And boy am I glad. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  18. You reminded me of a secret club my friends and I had formed as kids, headquartered in a friend’s garage. Put em Right – not that anything was put right 😂 Her Mom had given us the run of the place and the entire household was driven crazy with the weird and wonderful demands of 10 out of control girls. A mad smorgasbord of ideas picked from a range of Enid Blyton’s books 😂 (who I had been convinced was Gnid Blyton for the longest time 🙃 )

    I had put it on our friends’ WA chat to recall the name, and it opened up a whole Pandora’s box of memories for us. It was wonderful reminiscing about happier and innocent times. Thank you, Sabi ❤️

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Gnid Blyton just made my day, Ruchi 😂🤣 And yet it’s so believable because the E really is written like a G on the book covers.
      Put em Right is again gold. Isn’t it wonderful, the self confidence we have as kids? Calling ourselves fantastic, and confidently declaring the intent to put things right out there in the world 😂

      Liked by 3 people

    2. 😅😂
      This brought to mind something. In my ancestral home, there is a picture of my grandfather (he died when my dad was 5, suffice to say none of us, his grand kids got to meet him. For us he was that picture). The name of the studio is given on the pic which is “Udaya” and for some reason some of us when we were kids used to read it as “41daya”!🤣 I have no clue how we came to that conclusion😅, probably the way it is written and plus those days the voltage used to be really bad so the light would be dim. That’s my explanation now!

      Liked by 3 people

  19. Books is the theme or something that has not changed over the years for these two pals.
    Three famous books all by woman authors…Arnav selection
    Ps. The silly poem reminded me a poem we snitched.(and then returned 😋)..it was similar …her face better than a rose,sun or table I think.😁

    Liked by 2 people

        1. Teenagers have no boundaries and will do anything for fun (at least moi). I will not do this today but have no regrets 😂
          Ps. Jane Eyre fascinated and scared me…and I dont remember when I read it (pre teen or was it pre teen). Had a habit of snitching my much older sister books (even textbooks) 😋

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I can’t help but be amused at how “Jane Eyre fascinated and scared me” could very well have been a line delivered by Edward Rochester 😂

            Like

  20. Hi Sabi…Lovely update…Getting into teenage years…Arnav is possessive and jealous of Aniket but confused about his feelings towards Kushi…so blasted out in a literary way finding fault with his grammer and writing style…Poor Kushi she wanted Arnav to notice her beauty ….so awesome and heart warming…Fantastic two is so cute and hilarious.. Eagerly waiting for the next one. Take care

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Dearest Sabi
    Reminded of the famous line
    Com on , they’re best friends yaar 😛

    Innocent friendship turns into awareness , awkwardness
    Kh is more open with her feelings , and wants to be treated like a grown up
    How come class conscious Guptas haven’t seen anything across the garden , or are they still fighting to notice things 😜

    We , a group of 4 , tried to solve a neighborhood crime
    ,only to run away , fearing for our lives when we were chased by Tiger (🐯 , no not that one or Sallu )- most notorious colony pet owned by Nestle Naik uncle

    Thanks for the quick update
    Stay safe
    Cheers 🥂

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Ow, so sweet. Innocence turned into attraction. The taste of fruits is quite different when you plan a strategy & pluck with your friend than that kept in a refrigerator. You reminded me of my teenage days when my friend & I used to walk back home. During that time we narrated lots of stories to each other.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. yes! famous five, secret seven, nancy drew – didn’t we all want our own secret group going on secret adventures, growing up.
    oh, you just made me so nostalgic! the childhood days that gone by.
    discovering romance, sexual awakening, staring and glancing, crushes and he said/she said.
    ohh, joys of childhood

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment